14.4 C
18.9 C
Saturday, June 22, 2024

Premier League Manager of the Season 2023/24: List of nominees, past winners as Guardiola, Arteta, Klopp face off

- Advertisement -

Five coaches have been nominated for the Premier League Manager of the Season prize for 2023/24.The shortlist was announced on Thursday, May 9, along with the nominees for the Player of the Season and Young Player of the Season prizes, all of which will be awarded two days after the season concludes on May 19.Pep Guardiola was the winner of this award last season after guiding Manchester City to the title as part of a famous treble. He is once more in the running in 2024, with City chasing a potential domestic double and what could prove to be a record fourth-consecutive league title.His toughest challenger, much like in the title race, could be Mikel Arteta of Arsenal, but three others have genuine claims to a prize that can be voted for by fans.The Sporting News runs through the nominees and looks back at the all-time winners of this managerial award.MORE: The nominees for the Premier League Player of the Season award Premier League Manager of the Season 2023/24: List of nomineesFive managers were named on the shortlist for the Manager of the Season award for 2023/24.Mikel Arteta (Arsenal)Arteta took Arsenal close to a surprise title in 2022/23. This season, he has built on that promise, masterminding a challenge to the dominance of Manchester City by crafting a side with the best attack and defence in the division.Unai Emery (Aston Villa)Villa are on the brink of securing UEFA Champions League qualification, which is a hugely impressive achievement — particularly as they have balanced domestic football with a run to the Europa Conference League semifinals. Emery has been a revelation in the Midlands.Pep Guardiola (Manchester City)A four-time winner of this prize, Guardiola has City competing for a record fourth-consecutive Premier League title and the possibility of another domestic double. He continues to set the standard for managers worldwide.Andoni Iraola (Bournemouth)Bournemouth have enjoyed a fantastic season under Iraola, one of the highlights of which was a 3-0 victory over Manchester United at Old Trafford. They have set a new club record for points in a Premier League season and look set for a top-10 finish.Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool) Liverpool’s title challenge may have faded , but Klopp had the Reds on course for many months for a quadruple during his final season in charge. They won the Carabao Cup in February and have secured a return to the UEFA Champions League for next season.When is the Premier League Manager of the Season announced?The winner of the prize will be announced on Tuesday, May 21, two days after the final matchday of the Premier League season.Fans can vote for their preferred winner of the award via the Premier League website.Past winners of Premier League Manager of the Season awardThis award has been given out every season since 1993/94, making it one of the league’s longest-standing prizes.Former Manchester United boss Alex Ferguson leads the way regarding the most awards: he won this a staggering 11 times.All-time Premier League Manager of the Season award winnersSeasonManagerTeam1993/94Alex FergusonManchester United1994/95Kenny DalglishBlackburn Rovers1995/96Alex FergusonManchester United1996/97Alex FergusonManchester United1997/98Arsene WengerArsenal1998/99Alex FergusonManchester United1999/2000Alex FergusonManchester United2000/01George BurleyIpswich Town2001/02Arsene WengerArsenal2002/03Alex FergusonManchester United2003/04Arsene WengerArsenal2004/05Jose MourinhoChelsea2005/06Jose MourinhoChelsea2006/07Alex FergusonManchester United2007/08Alex FergusonManchester United2008/09Alex FergusonManchester United2009/10Harry RedknappTottenham2010/11Alex FergusonManchester United2011/12Alan PardewNewcastle United2012/13Alex FergusonManchester United2013/14Tony PulisCrystal Palace2014/15Jose MourinhoChelsea2015/16Claudio RanieriLeicester City2016/17Antonio ConteChelsea2017/18Pep GuardiolaManchester City2018/19Pep GuardiolaManchester City2019/20Jurgen KloppLiverpool2020/21Pep GuardiolaManchester City2021/22Jurgen KloppLiverpool2022/23Pep GuardiolaManchester City

Related Articles


Latest Articles