19.9 C
18 C
Tuesday, June 25, 2024

Premier League Golden Boot standings – Haaland, Isak, Watkins and Palmer vying for crown

- Advertisement -


Sign up to Miguel Delaney’s Reading the Game newsletter sent straight to your inbox for free

Sign up to Miguel’s Delaney’s free weekly newsletter

Tight races at the top and bottom have defined this Premier League season but the battle for the Premier League’s Golden Boot is still also to be decided.

Awarded to the top scorer in the English top flight across the campaign, a number of players are still in the running to succeed Erling Haaland, who tallied a record 36 goals last season.

The Manchester City marksman is highly unlikely to get close to that mark but is still well-placed as he bids to retain the prize.

But Chelsea’s Cole Palmer, Newcastle’s Alexander Isak and Ollie Watkins of Aston Villa are among those pushing Haaland, with a number of other players also in close attention with the season end drawing near.

Here’s how the top scorer standings sit:

25 goals: Erling Halaand (Manchester City)

20 goals: Alexander Isak (Newcastle), Cole Palmer (Chelsea)

19 goals: Ollie Watkins (Aston Villa)

18 goals: Dominic Solanke (Bournemouth)

17 goals: Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)

16 goals: Jarrod Bowen (West Ham), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Son Heung-min (Tottenham)

Which players have won the Golden Boot in the past?

Season Player Club Goals
1992/93 Teddy Sheringham NFO/TOT 22*
1993/94 Andrew Cole NEW 34*
1994/95 Alan Shearer BLA 34*
1995/96 Alan Shearer BLA 31
1996/97 Alan Shearer NEW 25
1997/98 Dion Dublin/Michael Owen/Chris Sutton COV/LIV/BLA 18
1998/99 Michael Owen/Dwight Yorke/Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink LIV/MUN/LEE 18
1999/00 Kevin Phillips SUN 30
2000/01 Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink CHE 23
2001/02 Thierry Henry ARS 24
2002/03 Ruud van Nistelrooy MUN 25
2003/04 Thierry Henry ARS 30
2004/05 Thierry Henry ARS 25
2005/06 Thierry Henry ARS 27
2006/07 Didier Drogba CHE 20
2007/08 Cristiano Ronaldo MUN 31
2008/09 Nicolas Anelka CHE 19
2009/10 Didier Drogba CHE 29
2010/11 Carlos Tevez/Dimitar Berbatov MCI/MUN 20
2011/12 Robin van Persie ARS 30
2012/13 Robin van Persie MUN 26
2013/14 Luis Suarez LIV 31
2014/15 Sergio Aguero MCI 26
2015/16 Harry Kane TOT 25
2016/17 Harry Kane TOT 29
2017/18 Mohamed Salah LIV 32
2018/19 Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang/Sadio Mane/Mohamed Salah ARS/LIV/LIV 22
2019/20 Jamie Vardy LEI 23
2020/21 Harry Kane TOT 23
2021/22 Mohamed Salah/Son Heung-min LIV/TOT 23
2022/23 Erling Haaland MCI 36

Related Articles


Latest Articles