2.8 C
-5.1 C
Tuesday, November 28, 2023

Former Manchester United striker sets Euro qualifying goalscoring record, previously held by Red Devils trainee, two more than Ronaldo

- Advertisement -

An international goalscoring record set by former Manchester United trainee David Healy has been broken.

Healy played three competitive games for Manchester United at the start of his career, making his debut in 1999. He went onto play the majority of his career in the Football League, before hitting international heights with Northern Ireland in the mid-2000s.

Healy set a European Championship qualifying goalscoring record in the build-up to Euro 2008, scoring 13 goals in one campaign.

This was matched by Robert Lewandowski in 2016, but has never been bettered until now, with a former Manchester United forward breaking the record.

Belgium v Azerbaijan: Group F - UEFA EURO 2024 European Qualifiers

Photo by Joris Verwijst/BSR Agency/Getty Images

Romelu Lukaku breaks David Healy record

Former Manchester United striker Romelu Lukaku has now scored the highest number of goals in a single European Championships qualifying campaign.

Lukaku broke the record in spectacular style last night, scoring four goals in the first half alone to lead Belgium to a 5-0 win over an Azerbaijan side which beat Victor Lindelof’s Sweden 3-0 last week.

The Belgian has 79 international goals in total, and is only 30. Cristiano Ronaldo has the all-time record with 128, and counting.


Lukaku played for Manchester United between 2017 and 2019. He is now playing under former Red Devils boss Jose Mourinho at Roma, where he has struck nine club goals this season in 14 games.

Cristiano Ronaldo’s best haul in a European qualifying campaign for Portugal came in 2020 when he struck 12, one short of David Healy’s 13.

Lukaku’s 14 is an impressive tally, coming in just eight games. It is a record which could last a long time.

European Championship qualifying highest scorers in an individual campaign

Here is a list of the top individual goalscorer records in single qualifying campaigns since the tournament began, per UEFA.com.

Romelu Lukaku (Belgium) 2024

David Healy (Northern Ireland) 2008
Robert Lewandowski (Poland) 2016

Harry Kane (England) 2020
Klaas-Jan Huntelaar (Netherlands) 2012
Davor Šuker (Croatia) 1996

Eran Zahavi (Israel) 2020
Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal) 2020
Zlatan Ibrahimović (Sweden) 2016
Raúl González (Spain) 2000
Toni Polster (Austria) 1996
Ole Madsen (Denmark) 1964

Related Topics

- Advertisement -

Related Articles


Latest Articles