13.5 C
21 C
Sunday, June 16, 2024

Alejandro Garnacho wins coveted BBC season award, first Manchester United player to do so in 11 years

- Advertisement -

The moment the ball left his boot the contest was over. Alejandro Garnacho’s stunning bicycle kick against Everton will be talked about for years.

Alejandro Garnacho will try all his career, but he may never score a more perfect goal than the one he did for Manchester United against Everton in November 2023.

Garnacho’s goal was instantly hailed as the best overhead kick in Premier League history – yes better than Wayne Rooney’s, and it helped United to a comfortable away win at Goodison Park.

Now, with the Premier League season at a close, the accolades are coming in for Alejandro Garnacho.

  • READ MORE: Who is Alejandro Garnacho? Meet Man Utd’s dazzling Argentine

Alejandro Garnacho of Manchester United in action during the Premier League match between Everton FC and Manchester United at Goodison Park on Nove...

Photo by Ash Donelon/Manchester United via Getty Images

Alejandro Garnacho wins Goal of the Season

It wasn’t just Manchester United’s game at Everton which Alejandro Garnacho’s goal wrapped up. He instantly ended all debate over the Premier League Goal of the Season Award.

The most obvious foregone conclusion of the 2023/24 season became official when BBC Match of the Day announced in their end of season forecast that Alejandro Garnacho’s goal had been voted as the winner.

This was a minor consolation for Garnacho amid a difficult season for Manchester United, yet he is totally deserving of the award.

Last 10 Goal of the Season winners

Below is a list of the last 10 Premier League Goal of the Season winners

  • 2022/23: Julio Enciso, Brighton v Chelsea
  • 2021/22: Mo Salah, Liverpool v Manchester City
  • 2020/21: Erik Lamela, Tottenham v Arsenal
  • 2019/20: Heung-Min Son, Tottenham v Burnley
  • 2018/19: Vincent Kompany, Manchester City v Leicester
  • 2017:18: Jamie Vardy, Leicester v West Brom
  • 2016/17: Emre Can, Liverpool v Watford
  • 2015/16: Dele Alli, Tottenham v Crystal Palace
  • 2014/15: Jack Wilshere, Arsenal v West Brom

Last Manchester United player to win Goal of the Season

The last Manchester United player to win the Premier League Goal of the Season Award was Robin van Persie, way back in 2013.

Van Persie’s stunning volley against Aston Villa came in the game Manchester United clinched the 2012/13 title in what would prove to be Sir Alex Ferguson‘s final season. United have not won the league since.

Two years earlier, in 2010/11, the Goal of the Season award was won by Wayne Rooney, for his bicycle kick against Manchester City.

Rooney won the award three times in total, also in 2006/07 for a strike against Bolton, and in 2004/05 for a goal in the FA Cup against Middlesbrough.

Ryan Giggs was the previous Manchester United player to win the award before Rooney, for his incredible solo goal in the Treble season in the FA Cup semi-final to defeat Arsenal.

Related Topics

Related Articles


Latest Articles